Uncategorized

Book Review: Follow Me Down (Sherri Smith) @SL_Smith_ @forgereads

IMG_20170826_144111_037As a Canadian blogger, I know I need to do a better job of incorporating Canadian authors onto my shelves. I am so happy that I came across Sherri Smith! Follow Me Down was a nail-biting thriller that kept me guessing until the very end.

Mia Haas, a pharmacist and recovering addict living in Chicago, gets an unsettling late night phone call from the police. Her twin brother, Lucas, is missing after being named prime suspect in the death of one of his female students. Mia rushes back to their home town in North Dakota, intent on proving her brother’s innocence. What she finds there will rock her to her core. What secrets is Lucas hiding? Returning home is never easy and for Mia it means confronting a past she has worked hard to forget.

Mia’s characterization is the strongest element of this story. The narrative is told entirely from her perspective, which allows readers to really get inside her head. You become part of her story. She is so determined and ferocious in her search for the truth. Although she isn’t a cop (this is no police procedural), she is intent on leading her own investigation into Joanna’s murder and her brother’s potential connection to it.  Mia doesn’t always make the best choices, but everything she does is to ensure her brother comes home safely.

The novel’s atmosphere is entirely dark, particularly once Mia arrives back in North Dakota. The supporting cast of this novel is rich in engaging individuals. It seems that most of the townspeople are addicted to pills or alcohol in order to cope with their various demons. It is as though every person in their small town of Wayouta has something to hide. I found myself questioning everyones motives as I read.

What I appreciated most about this book is that no matter how hard I tried, I could not figure out the final twist. I’ve mentioned before, but more times than not, I can figure out the perpetrator halfway through the thrillers I read. Follow Me Down had so many red herrings and twists that I was constantly on edge. The last third of the novel is particularly strong and I was shocked when the killer was finally revealed!

I highly recommend Follow Me Down. If you are a fan of psychological thrillers, you will enjoy this novel. I cannot wait for Sherri Smith’s next release.

A big thank you to the author, Sherri Smith and Forge Books for providing a copy of this novel. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review!

Leave a comment