Reviews

Book Review: The Last Wave (Gillian Best) @GillianEBest @HouseofAnansi

gillian

I will say the first thing that drew me to this novel was it’s beautiful cover. I have always been intrigued (and slightly frightened) by oceans and their unseen depths. This novel gave me an entirely different perspective of the water and the way a person connects with it. The Last Wave is a beautifully written, emotional story about one woman’s remarkable life and her unending connection to the water.

This novel traces events across six decades for Martha, her husband and their two children. Steadfast through every moment of this story is Martha’s deep connection to the English Channel. She swims across the Channel ten different times in life. Martha endures several conflicts with family and friends, but her connection to the water never wavers.

The novel is told from the perspective of several characters. I really appreciated that despite the fact that Martha was the central element of the novel, you had insight into the thoughts and actions of her family members. It gave a much more rounded perspective of how Martha’s obsession with the sea impacted those around her and at times hurt her relationships. By the time I was finished reading, I was completely invested in every single character’s life.

This was a really emotional read. I found myself tearing up more than once. Martha’s character is far from perfect and I may not have agreed with every decision she made, but I think that is why she resonated with me. She is a woman guided by her passion for swimming and the sea and it takes precedence over everything in her life, including her family.

I really enjoyed Gillian Best’s writing style. I highly recommend checking out The Last Wave if you are a fan of character driven novels or looking for a thoughtful read.

Big thanks to the publisher via Netgalley for the ARC of The Last Wave. It was my pleasure to provide an honest review. 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Last Wave (Gillian Best) @GillianEBest @HouseofAnansi

Leave a Reply

